When I was 16, I saw my first ballet.  I’d joined a community chorus and the group made a pilgrimage to the Saratoga Performing Arts Center during its summer season to see Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker

RCB_Nutcracker_2 reduced

Enjoy the magical holiday tale of the Nutcracker who comes to life!

The performance entranced me.  I remember where I was sitting and what I wore.  I recall holding my breath during some of the more spectacular dance scenes and the exhileration I felt when the music swelled from one movement to the next, taking me on an epic journey.  No matter how often I see The Nutcracker, the magic never wears off.

tara_in_spanish reduced

In prior years, our family has always been away for the Friday through Sunday following Thanksgiving, the weekend when The Nutcracker is traditionally performed by the award-winning Rochester Philharmonic Orchester (directed by Michael Butterman) and the renowned  Rochester City Ballet (under the artistic direction of Jamey Leverett). This year’s performance will also feature the Bach Children’s Chorus (in residence at Nazareth College, directed by Karla Krogstad) and will include performances by guest artists from some of the top ballet companies in the U.S. and by over 150 community children.

I was delighted to see that, in a year that has put pressure on many family’s budgets, the RPO and Rochester City Ballet have joined forces to make this delightful tale of the Nutcracker who comes to life more accessible to families by offering special children’s pricing.  Children’s tickets start as low as $10!  And anyone who is already an RPO member is entitled to special discounted “add-on pricing” to their normal subscription season, with tickets starting at $15.

The Nutcracker will be performed Friday through Sunday, November 27 through 29 at 2 PM and 7  PM at the Easman Theater located at 25 Gibbs Street Rochester, NY.

flowers reduced

To purchase your tickets to the Nutcracker, CLICK HERE or visit any Wegmans “That’s T.H.E. Ticket” office.

P.S. By the way, if you and your little ones would like to “Get Ready for the Nutcracker,” join the Rochester City Ballet at Strong National Museum of Play on Wednesday, November 11 from 12PM-4PM for an afternoon of music, storytelling and dance, included with Strong National Museum of Play Admission.

Photos courtesy of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra and the Rochester City Ballet.

 If you’ve enjoyed this post, you may also want to read Strong National Museum of Play – Rochester, NY

