The flavor of maple enhances many foods beyond pancakes

I was engrossed in writing yesterday’s post about Maple Weekend when I suddenly had the sensation of smelling a maple scent.  Still engrossed, I had the fleeting thought, “how odd that writing about maple sugaring creates a sensation of smelling maple…I never had that happen before.”

Just as I was finishing the post, my husband came and sat near me at his computer with a big bowl of – you guessed it – maple-flavored oatmeal!  Now I know what it’ll be like when computers produce scent as well as visual and sound.

After this experience, I decided it was only appropriate to celebrate the production, taste and smell of maple this week with a list of some terrific resources where you can find recipes using maple syrup, one of New York’s sweetest agricultural products.

  • About.comDozens of recipes using maple syrup, including lobster, couscous cake, frozen maple mouse and Emeril’s Favorite French Toast.
  • Cornell Sugar Maple Research & Extension Program – A wealth of recipes that includes everything from main dishes using ham, chicken and pork or vegetables to dressings, sauces, candies and desserts.
  • Epicurious – A dessert-oriented listing of recipes featuring walnut maple torte with maple meringue frosting, maple walnut pound cake with maple glaze and maple and chocolate chip shortbread.
  • Maple Weekend – A variety of recipes including maple cheese cake, bacon-wrapped scallops with mango maple glaze, maple custard with sugared pecans and maple espresso cake.
  • New York State Maple – A selection of  13 recipes that includes such treats as Maple Syrup Salad Dressing, Maple-Baked Pairs, Maple Monkey Bread (I have to try that one!), Maple Lava Cakes, Maple Apple Pie and Gluten/Dairy/Egg-free Ginger Peach Pie.

If you have any maple recipes you’d like to share with Finger Lakes Travel Maven readers, I’d be happy to post them, giving you credit.

